Board of Directors

C4A’s board of directors is responsible for oversight of our financial affairs and helping to guide us with policy creation based on careful thought about our mission, constituency, and goals.  Additionally, C4A has an advisory board, people we call on when they can help us with their special areas of experience.

C4A Board of Directors arranged alphabetically:

Aaron Ebata: info coming soon!
Tom Oct 2010Tom Faux  is the Director of Programming and a founding faculty member at C4A where he teaches guitar and banjo and directs the Marvelous Cretaceous Band. He is on the music faculty at Illinois State University, and he serves on the Board of Directors of Dagbe USA, a non-profit organization that supports the work of a community music school in Ghana. He has been a folklorist, a clam-digger, a radio-producer, and a member of the Amalgamated Meat-Cutters’ Union.
Robin Kearton vasupic 120Robin Kearton (president) is the founder and director of C4A and its flagship youth ensemble, the Bow-Dacious String Band.  She comes from a long line of teachers, and delights in helping someone attain an “Aha!” moment.  As a performing musician she is a triple-decade orchestral player and enjoys playing fiddle in old-time jams with her husband and friends.

“I am honored to have such estimable colleagues and be a part of a strong musical family, and proud of the contributions C4A has made in our community. I believe in the power of music to bring people together, and I can’t wait to see what will happen next!”

Rick Murphy: A native of Jacksonville, Illinois,Rick has been involved in music education and arts advocacy for over four decades. He believes in and supports arts programs across a broad scope,  including educational, community, and beyond.
Rick is quite active both as a teacher and as a performer. As spare time allows, he attends many performances and events – especially if they involve his students, friends and colleagues.
Cindy Shepherd: info coming soon!

C4A Advisory Board 

Amy Catron

Roxanne Frey

Tom Gillespie (in memoriam)

Igor Kalnin

Rob Krumm

Jan Matthews

Paul Wirth